Thursday, October 5, 2017

Guns, Terrorism, and Why I Hate Both Sides

THIS IS NOT IN ANY WAY SHAPE OR FORM SAYING THAT THE VEGAS SHOOTING WAS A GOOD THING, NOT AN ACT OF TERRORISM, OR ANYTHING ELSE THAT CAN BE CONSTRUED AS IT NOT BEING THE TRAGEDY THAT IT IS.


This IS however, a vent/rant about how both sides are using the Vegas shooting to their own petty ends and only making things worse for the nation TOGETHER. Alright, let's get started.

To anyone reading this, yes, you random NSA worker who has nothing else to do but check inconsequential Blogger posts, you should know that I'm not putting this somewhere like Facebook, because I am friends with people on both sides. I like these people as people, even when I don't agree with their opinions. However, this means that posting these thoughts on Facebook would result in a mini-WWIII on my post. I won't have that. So it's here, for you poor NSA worker who has to read this to make sure I'm not some terrorist threat. You're welcome.

That out of the way, let's really start. I've been seeing a lot of stuff on Facebook about the Vegas shooter. A lot of it from the Liberal side is pointing out that he's an older white man who had something like 42 guns, and that that makes him a terrorist. He is, and 42 guns is a lot of guns for one man to own, I'll admit both of those points. However, they are putting it in a way that makes it seem like anyone who is an older, white man with a gun collection is a potential terrorist. This is in stark contrast to how they want us to view Muslims, Blacks, and other minority groups.

Newsflash Liberals: if you want people to not generalize people, DON'T FUCKING GENERALIZE PEOPLE. There are bad people of every damn stripe out there, and there are just as many, if not more, good people in those EXACT same stripes. YOU INVALIDATE YOUR ARGUMENT BY DOING THIS!

It's times like this where you actually see the humanitarian concern for people from the Conservative side of things. Sure, the way that they are saying it is by asking for prayers, but it's not just Christians who pray. Jews pray, Muslims pray several times a day, people of all religions pray. Though when not asking for prayers, or pointing out that there were POLICE doing their jobs of protecting people (Yes, Liberals, not ALL cops are power-tripping douche bags), they are freaking out over the whole kneeling during the Anthem thing.

Get the fuck over that people, respect is shown in different ways. There are many reasons why kneeling could be seen as MORE respectful than the hand-over-heart salute that we were taught in school. Sure, it's not the standard, but don't you kneel before images of God? The flag is a representation of our nation, just as a statue of Jesus is a representation of God.

One of the biggest reasons that I am writing this post today is because I saw a post saying that we should "re-think" the Second Amendment because guns are so much scarier today then they were in the 18th Century, posted by a Liberal. I get really angry with them when they start showing that they are NO FUCKING BETTER than the Conservatives. If they want to be something other than Conservatives with different ideals, then they should grow the fuck up and start acting the way they want other people to act. It only takes a few people ACTUALLY doing things different to spread that around, then it'll be the new norm. As Ghandi said: BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD. This isn't a hard quote to understand. Want to normalize LGBTQ+? Don't make a big deal about there being gay characters on shows/in movies. Be happy that they are there, but don't shove it EVERYONE'S faces.

Sorry, tangent. Liberal's have really got my goat today. If we were saying anything about altering/repealing/restricting the FIRST AMENDMENT like the Liberals want to do to the SECOND AMENDMENT, they would be crying that it was the end of the world. Sound familiar? It should, because that's what the Conservatives are doing right now. This also means that Liberals, and Conservatives on some level, have forgotten the actual point and meaning of the Second Amendment. Let's fix that for you, my captive NSA audience.

The Second Amendment reads thus: A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed. 

Thank you Google and the Constitute Project. "A well regulated Militia" what is that? A militia is any informal military like group that is made up of normal men and women within a given community. At least, that's what it meant when I was taught in school. Typically, in the time that the Constitution was written, and the Bill of Rights, a militia was used for defense of a community in war time. These militia were regulated by the societal norms of the time, and a call to arms mobilized the entire town to various duties. This does indicate that the Founding Fathers weren't planning on society becoming focused around such large cities as we have today. THE FOUNDING FATHERS WEREN'T PERFECT, they weren't some form of Eldar Farseers from Warhammer 40K, they were just men. Militias can still be formed today, it would just take a different form to mobilize people. 

Question: What is this well regulated Militia for? Answer "security of a free State". What does that mean? The most straight-forward answer to that question is that it is a way to legally coup the Federal Government. Everything in the Constitution is aimed at making America the best country that it can be, and not like England at the time. This means that there are checks and balances within the branches of government, and the PEOPLE for whom the government is supposed to work for, have to power to end governments that do not suit the needs of the PEOPLE. 

That's right Liberals: YOU SHOULD BE WANTING THIS TOO, IT'S HOW WE KEEP FROM ENDING UP LIKE COUNTRIES IN AFRICA, OR SOUTH AMERICA, OR THE MIDDLE EAST WHERE IT'S JUST A REVOLVING DOOR OF DICTATORS. 

Yes, guns changed, they are scarier. However, we shouldn't be rethinking the Second Amendment, we should be working within it. Ending the Second Amendment really puts the entire Bill of Rights on the chopping block. This includes the First Amendment for anyone not remembering that the Bill of Rights is our first ten Amendments to the Constitution. The First Amendment, the one that allows me to write this post, Liberals to say that the Second Amendment needs to be changed, and Conservatives to ask for prayers for a community struck by tragedy. 

The Vegas shooting, along with all other mass shootings, is a tragedy. We should be pulling together as a nation to move through this. Instead, Liberals and Conservatives are driving a wedge into society along partisan lines, keeping people away from the open and honest discussions that are needed in these times. To those who say that the war for gun control was lost when we "Decided that killing children was alright" in reference to Sandy Hook, that wasn't gun control that failed. That was access to appropriate mental health care, that failed that man. He didn't own that gun, his mother did, he killed her too. Saying that Conservatives view the killing of children as acceptable is a stain on the memories of those children who died, and the janitor and teacher who died defending those students who survived. You dishonor yourself when you say that, and you dishonor them. 

Go educate yourselves people. Learn what the Amendments do, actually learn them, what they are for. It's not as simple as they make it seem in elementary school. That seems to be when we learn the Bill of Rights, and any expounding on it just gets tossed straight out the window, even when it's the nuance that holds the real meaning.