Thursday, February 22, 2018

Here We Go Again

Dear government agent who has to read this,

You're the only one who reads these (unless Google counts my view when it's been posted, which would be stupid, but whatever). I bet you have a bunch of other people you have to go through too, can't have just one agent for every person in the U.S. Unless we're talking outsourcing.... but that's a different matter entirely.

We have had another mass shooting, as you are no doubt aware. It's impossible to enjoy a scroll through Facebook without some form of vitriol from one side or the other. I'm not eloquent enough to actually argue my case in a comment section. This has lead me to say "screw the first amendment" and give up entirely on expressing my views. I can think whatever the hell I want if I don't say a damn thing.

However, what is the point of ideas if you can't express them? It's a big reason why this only gets updated when things like this happen. Both sides are hyper-focused on one side of the issue and fighting over what was the actual cause of this shooting.

The answer? Multiple things you idiots. There's glaring holes in logic on both sides, and they are both so blinded by their zealotry that they can't see it for themselves. So blinded are they that they have the right answer, despite those on the left saying they have open minds. They don't, they just use people's pointing out of their holes as invitations to bash gun by-backs and removing guns from the households of responsible gun owners.

Does gun control need to happen? Obviously, we can't keep going the way that we are going. Something needs to be done. However, there is a difference in supporting reasonable gun control, which would allow responsible gun owners to keep their guns, and straight repealing the 2nd Amendment. That's never going to happen, because that would need a new Amendment (27th I believe) to repeal that.

There's an argument being used by the left listing things that were the norm in 1791 (Bill of Rights ratified) and how things are different now. The issue with this is that it blurs the line between what is venerable and what is outdated. They do not see how that could be used to apply to all of the Bill of Rights, just because they are so focused on fucking over the second. We have never outlawed the use of the N-word in any of its forms, it's just become stigma to use them. There are no banned words, because they are protected under the first amendment. Guns are different from words, but if the core of some stupid meme is enough to validate comparing the NFL to slavery, then fuck it.

On the right I've seen a meme saying that they won't listen to anything about gun control from people alright with killing babies (abortion). That's just hypocritical to the extreme. It strengthens the argument on the left that the right loves guns more than children. I also just saw an argument that more people died from the plane crashes on 9/11 than killed by guns. That just made the poster sound amazingly ignorant. Though as I think about it I don't think that person has ever flown on a plane, and is in for a rude awakening when he does for the first time as an adult.

This is probably the last post I'm putting here for a long time. I'm tired of everyone just thinking that it's one thing or another. It's access to guns, toxic masculinity, and our culture in general. Gun control alone isn't going to do what needs doing, but neither is putting our heads in the sand.

 A guy I knew once explained the difference between the mindset of a gamer, and the mindset of a jock. If you tell a gamer that they can't do something, they know that that something isn't possible; the rules of the game won't allow it. They accept it and move on to things that they can do. Tell a jock that, and they will fight to find a way to do it anyway. America is a jock, we tell our people they can't do something, and they say "fuck it, I'm gonna do that". It's a part of society that both sides are capitalizing on, so they aren't going to see it that way.

A final word to the right: Get your priorities in order. Just seriously, sort that shit out.

A final word to the left: There's a method/principle used in behavioral modification that states that if you want someone to do something they are not inclined to do, get them to do something small first. It doesn't have to be related to the thing that you truly want them to do, but that does work better. An example is if you want a child to clean their room, but the child doesn't want to, ask them to pick up just one thing (i.e. favorite toy) and put it in a specific place. Then ask them to do something slightly larger (in this example put just the toys away in a room that needs to be more than just picked up). Then ask them to do the thing that you want them to do. You could also break down the larger task (i.e. SENSIBLE gun control) into constituent parts that BOTH sides can agree to, and at the end you have SENSIBLE gun control. Once people start saying yes, it's harder to start saying no. Try that instead of just bashing things over people's heads.

A final word (I know, hypocrisy) to both: However you do it, do it quick. The way things are going, America is going to burn to the ground. We will not burn in a vacuum however. If we go down, the whole world goes with us. We'll be living in Fallout or something worse if we keep going the way we are going.

No comments:

Post a Comment